Digital Media Intensive: Creating a Dance Film - Gibney
Week of November 10, 2019
Making space for
Loading Events

Digital Media Intensive: Creating a Dance Film

Group Study DMI Workshop - A view over the shoulder of a man filming a dance class

This intensive teaches students every aspect of creating a dance film, from pre-production and camera basics to post-production and exporting. Students will work to create their own dance films over the course of the program, which will culminate with a final screening. Bring your ideas and learn how filmmakers go from a great idea to a great film. Students will have access to DMI equipment and workstations to film and edit their films before our final screening on May 21st.

SCHEDULE:
Tuesday, Jan. 21 – Intro to Dance Filmmaking
Thursday, Jan. 23 – Intro to Pre Production
Tuesday, Jan. 28 – Storyboarding
Tuesday, Feb. 4 – Filming Week 1
Tuesday, Feb. 11 – Filming Week 2
Tuesday, Feb. 18 – Filming Week 3
Tuesday, Feb. 25 – Post Production (Intro to Adobe Premiere)
Tuesday, Mar. 3 – Post Production Week 1
Tuesday, Mar. 10 – Post Production Week 2
Tuesday, Mar. 17 – Post Production Week 3
Tuesday, Mar. 24 – Post Production Week 4
Tuesday, Mar. 31 – Dance Film Check-In
Tuesday, May 21 – Screening

 

Photo by Scott Shaw.


Gibney’s Digital Media Initiative seeks to empower artists to create high quality digital content and integrate technology into their practice. The DMI supports artists by providing trainings, consultations, access to hardware and software, and subsidized filming and editing services. Learn more.


ACCESSIBILITY

Gibney 280 Broadway is accessible via elevator from the main entrance at 53A Chambers Street.

We welcome the opportunity to make this event more accessible. Please refrain from wearing scented products, so that people with chemical sensitivities can join us. Please request ASL interpreting, audio description, or open captioning 30 days before the event or submit other requests by completing our Access Requests and Inquiries Form or calling 646.837.6809 (Voice only).

Gibney 280 Broadway
Gibney/Agnes Varis Performing Arts Center
Enter at 53A Chambers Street
New York, NY 10007
646 837 6809

Gibney 890 Broadway
Fifth Floor
New York, NY 10003
212 677 8560